Jon Baines ToursToby Sinclair

A London-born Scot, Toby first drove out to India in 1974 and by late 1975 he joined the Tiger Tops Jungle Lodge in Nepal’s Royal Chitwan National Park. In April 1977 he moved to Delhi and helped establish both Mountain Travel India and an office for Tiger Tops. Toby has trekked extensively in the western Himalayas. He helped establish the Kipling Camp in Kanha National Park and Bandhavgarh Jungle Camp. He has been on the Advisory Committee of the Bombay Natural History Society and is today on the Government of India Steering Committee on Protected Area Management. He is also the Co-Founder and Vice President of the EcoTourism Society of India. He was the recipient of the 2007 Zeiss Award for Conservation and is a trustee of Global Tiger Patrol.

Join Toby on this Zoom journey along this spectacular river from Kolkata to Farakka. Sit back and enjoy a fascinating exploration of Bengal’s culture and history as Toby shares his personal experiences and in-depth knowledge of one of his favourite parts of India.

For the last 20 years his main work has been handling the Field Production of BBC Natural History Unit filming in the wilderness areas and parks of India, Nepal, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, and Bhutan. These films get broadcast on Discovery, Animal Planet and National Geographic in addition to the BBC.

Toby has edited and contributed to a series of books on different parts of South Asia including a series of Insight Guides to India; Indian Wildlife; India’s Western Himalaya, South India, Calcutta, Delhi, Jaipur & Agra; and Rajasthan.

In addition to his own photography, he has been consultant to and handled logistics for numerous photographic projects including The Western Ghats (National Geographic, Jan 2002), Tigers (National Geographic, Dec 1999), The Monsoon (Geo, Dec 1998), Snow Leopards(National Geographic, 2008), Kaziranga (National Geographic 2010), Tigers (December 2011) etc. He has also handled the logistics for photographers such as Richard Avedon, Tom Mangelsen, Nick Nicolls, Steve Winter, Frans Lanting, and Art Wolfe among others.